District 16 City of Toronto was formed in 1973 and is the largest of RTOERO’s 51 districts.

Our members include those who work in and retire from education – including child care and early years, schools and school boards, post-secondary, private schools and more. We play a key role in helping members stay active and connected – with each other and the community.

District 16 is situated on the ancestral traditional territories of the Ojibway, the Anishinaabe and the Mississaugas of the Credit. We recognize that this territory is covered by the Upper Canada Treaties. We also acknowledge the urban Indigenous communities in our district.

District 16 City of Toronto recognizes the inequities connected to colonization and commits to working towards creating a just, inclusive and vibrant community for all.

We invite our members to reflect the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s calls to action.


Members and growing

District 16 City of Toronto President

Ruth Baumann

District 16 City of Toronto Executive

Name Role Email
Ruth Baumann President
Varla Abrams First Vice-President
Michelle Blais Second Vice-President
Herbert Stover Secretary
Herbert Stover Treasurer
William Menagh Member Services Coordinator
Lone Smith Member Services Coordinator
Marjorie Blake Goodwill Rep
Joan Z Elliott Newsletter Editor
William Tajer Health Benefits Representative
Susan Weinert PAC Rep
Susan Weinert PAC Rep
Barbara Antheunis Web Master
Joan Z Elliott Web Master
Michelle Blais Web Master
William Menagh Web Master
Barbara Antheunis Corporate Member 1
Ruth Baumann Corporate Member 2
Michelle Blais Alternate 1
Herbert Stover Alternate 2
Joan Elliott Community Grant Rep
Lone Smith Social Media Rep
Lone Smith RPW Organizer

Learn more about RTOERO

Not a member yet?

Join today! Membership is free until retirement.